CAPE MAY COUNTY, NJ (January 29, 2020) – On Friday, January 24th, Senator Michael Testa swore-in Cape May County Freeholder Marie Hayes as the New Jersey Association of Counties’ 79th President in the Senate Chambers of the State House in Trenton.

“I look forward to leading NJAC this year as it continues advocating for county governments across the State with a unified, proactive, and solution driven approach to solving critical issues,” said Cape May County Freeholder and incoming NJAC President Marie Hayes.

Marie Hayes will transition from her previous position as 1st Vice President to lead the organization. She will be accompanied by a board of directors and executive officers including: Mercer County Freeholder John Cimino as 1st Vice President, Monmouth County Administrator Teri O’Connor as 2nd Vice President, Cumberland County Freeholder Joseph Derella as Secretary/Treasurer, and Essex County Freeholder Brendan Gill as Immediate Past President.

“At a time in which county governments are playing a vital and growing role in the everyday lives of New Jersey residents, I would like to commend NJAC’s executive officers and board of directors for their leadership, public service, and commitment to this outstanding organization as a valued and trusted resource,” stated Hayes.

The New Jersey Association of Counties is a non-partisan organization that is committed to advocating for legislation, regulations, and policy directives that empower county governments to operate more effectively and efficiently and advancing innovative programs and initiatives that enhance the level of service provided and save valuable taxpayer dollars.

In addition to being sworn in as the NJAC President, Hayes was sworn in as the Southern New Jersey Freeholders’ Association President on Monday, January 27th by Assemblymen Antwan McClellan. The Southern New Jersey Freeholders’ Association is made up of eight southern counties and includes, Cape May, Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Ocean, Salem, Cumberland, and Gloucester counties.

“Marie Hayes has imparted her skills and knowledge onto numerous organizations including the New Jersey Association of Counties, the Southern New Jersey Freeholders’ Association, Cape May County and the CapeGOP. Marie’s expertise and conservative values have been an asset to CapeGOP’s efforts to secure the freedom and equal opportunity of South Jersey residents. I am thrilled to see how Hayes’ leadership will strengthen Cape May County and the many organizations she is apart of,” said CapeGOP Chairman, Marcus Karavan.